Motivational F-Bombs

Hey, FabNerds.

So, for those who don’t know (anyone reading this who isn’t directly related to me) I am 1.5 years away from finishing my undergrad in Theatre, with a focus in directing. My college, like many colleges – though not all of them – requires you to do a Senior Project before graduating. For those who are confused as to what that means, all you really know that it is more or less like a thesis project. In Theatre and Performance, your senior project is usually something involving putting up a play.

I know what ya’ll are thinking. Jessica. That’s not until your senior year. Why are you telling us about this now? Well, dear FabNerds, it is because my lovely university makes us all take a class called “Junior Seminar“. Such a misnomer, because it is not really a seminar at all. It is a Class. A Four-Hour Class that meets every Wednesday. A Four-Hour Class that meets every Wednesday where I have to do assignments pertaining to and generally talk about my senior project. Every. Single. Week.

It’s enough to make anyone what to hide under their desk and cry while breathing into a paper bag.*

It’s not that I am unprepared for this class in anyway. I’m just not great with feeling like I have to present the embryos of what will become my Senior Project for all my peers each week. It’s nerve-wracking. I feel like I’m not saying the right things, and then I talk too much and I completely miss my point. I get pretty wigged out. I guess it is because I feel like I am being judged. I know that is CRAZY because everyone in that class must get where I’m coming from and feel the same, but part of me feels like that. Maybe I just always feel like I need to present myself a certain way? Maybe I’m being inauthentic? ….whatever. That is not the point of this post.

What IS the point is that when I started expressing these feelings to my lovely roommate she gave me this quote that Kate Nash had said when asked if she had any advice for young girls in college. I found it really helpful and I try to look at it everyday now so as not to have anymore Jr. Sem. meltdowns. I really like it.

So, I just thought it would be nice to have up on N&F. A little something motivational to keep us going when things get shitty. This does have some language, but I think it’s warranted.

Wake up every morning and tell yourself that you’re a bad-ass bitch from hell and that no one can fuck with you.

And then don’t let anybody fuck with you.

~Kate Nash

Isn’t that kind of fantastic? Doesn’t it just make you want to take on the day and screw what everyone else thinks? I don’t know, it works for me.

Happy Wednesday,

Jessica

*jk- I only imagined myself doing that a couple of times.

madmen_icon

One thought on “Motivational F-Bombs

  1. Pingback: What I Do With My Time | Nerdy and Fabulous

Leave a Reply

